Friend or Foe?

An honest, personal and deeply moving piece.

NicNac Lifelong Learner

I grew up having a great relationship with food – I loved it!!! I was a skinny child  and could pretty much eat whatever I wanted. I was very tall (ha! still am!) and had more issues with my height than my weight. I always wanted to be smaller and blend in more. When I reached about 15 years old, I started to get ‘chubby’. I still didn’t have too much of a problem with it – I loved food. As I got older, I started to notice I was ‘curvier’ than most of my mates – and while most days I was ok with how I looked, there was a niggle in the back of my mind that I should be thinner.

I was always a ‘people pleaser’  and when I became ill (started around 10 years ago) with depression, the idea of losing weight began to really appeal…

View original post 627 more words

Leave a Reply

